Home » portable, reviews, technology, television

My New TV – Acer XD1150 DLP Digital Projector Review

Written By: Gary on November 30, 2006 35 Comments

So I was watching television the other day and I knew the picture looked a little dim. I use a computer projector for my TV so I use the wall as my screen (it’s about 100 inches diagonally) and it’s great for movies and regular TV. So I checked the hours for the bulb and it was supposed to be good for another 350 hours but then it abruptly died that night.

My intent when I bought the projector a few years ago was to keep it until it died and replace it with a much brighter one with more features once I used up the bulb (bulbs are about $300). Projectors drop significantly in price all the time. For example, the cheapest Epson projector 5 years ago was in the $2200 range and now a significantly brighter model (possibly with a higher resolution) is now $675-ish (those are education prices and I’d have to pay more). But I don’t want the comparable model, I want the deluxe model!

So now I’ve got a dilemma, do I replace the bulb ($300) or buy the projector I want ($2000 that I wasn’t ready to spend) knowing the prices will keep dropping and features will keep growing?? The answer was the Black Friday ads, I saw multiple projectors for $400 (after rebate) and $500. I settled on the $500 Acer XD1150 DLP Digital Projector (from Staples), no rebate and it was available to ship. It looks like the one in the picture but the one in the picture is the next model up but still looks the same.


So, for spending $500 for the projector instead of $300 for the bulb, I got a new smaller, lighter (under 5 pounds) in-warranty projector a brighter bulb (1800 lumens vs. 1100 lumens) and it’s smaller. It’s got inputs for composite video (regular video), s-video (like from your DVD player) and SVGA (which doubles as a component video port which supports 480p). It doesn’t have any audio inputs but I run it through the stereo so that’s okay. It came with a remote and a great carrying bad too.

I like it a lot, even pulling it out of the box was nice. It was packaged excellent everything individually wrapped. It wasn’t the same experience of opening up an Apple product but it made me think of it. I came with a composite video cable, a 15 pin SVGA cable but no S-video cable. It came with a CD (which I haven’t looked at yet) and a 20 page manual. Actually it was a one page manual, the other 19 pages were the same page in 19 other languages. The zoom is limited but it got the picture where I needed it so I was okay with that. It’s also got a digital zoom which is great for watching non-HD shows on the HD channels. The focus was a bit touchy, I may need to look at another one later to see if it’s just mine or if they are all that way. All in all I’m very happy with my new TV!

I did just notice there is a 45 page on-line manual in English. I’d guess that’s on the CD if I had put it in…

Tags: ,

Digg this!Add to del.icio.us!Stumble this!Add to Techorati!Share on Facebook!Seed Newsvine!Reddit!

35 Responses to “My New TV – Acer XD1150 DLP Digital Projector Review”

  1. Erika says on: 1 December 2006 at 3:08 pm

    were you able to find replacement bulbs for the acer xd-1150? we purchased ours at staples last week but they can’t find replacement bulbs. they are supposed to be contacting acer and getting back to me.

  2. Gary LaPointe says on: 1 December 2006 at 3:13 pm

    No, I figured I had a while before I needed one.

    And if a better projector goes on sale for not much more than the bulb. I’ll get a new one when it’s out. Like I did for this one.

    My 1100 lumen bulb needed replacing for $300, I figure I paid $500 for an 1800 lumen bulb. With a “free” projector and a new warranty.

  3. Stuart Moore says on: 29 December 2006 at 8:51 am

    Hi, this is the only review I’ve found for this projector so far, hope you don’t mind me butting in.

    Now you’ve had it for a month, what’s your opinion of it? Looking to get one over here in the UK

    Happy Christmas

  4. Gary LaPointe says on: 30 December 2006 at 1:49 pm

    I’m very happy with this projector! I’d recommend it to anyone.

    I’m not saying it exceeds that of a more expensive projector, but it exceeds my practical needs. But brighter is always better!

  5. Raj says on: 12 January 2007 at 11:00 am

    Hi Gary .. Does it support dual voltage(220/110) ? I am not able to get this info from anywhere. If you can point me to the user manual on internet which you mentioned above ???

  6. Gary LaPointe says on: 12 January 2007 at 7:04 pm

    The bottom of it says it supports up to 240v.

  7. surfing says on: 13 January 2007 at 11:59 am

    I got one too on BF and have been very pleased with it. Very bright, ok even with lights on in the room. Nice color/contrast. Quiet, small, and lightweight. Love watching sports with it, and the kids love the movies.

  8. Ilian says on: 24 January 2007 at 4:52 am

    Hi guys who already have the projectors.

    Question: do you think they could replace TV (provided you have the space), rather than just be used as a supplement of TV sets in the house. I mean, in terms of image quality, ease of manipulation…

  9. Gary LaPointe says on: 24 January 2007 at 10:00 am

    It has replaced the TV in my house. I have not other sets that I watch besides this one.

    The ONLY downside is that during the day you must pull the blinds to watch TV at the 100 in diagonal size or else the light washes out the picture. With my living room I can’t mount mine closer to the wall, if I could, I could zoom/shrink the image a bit smaller which would increase the brightness which would help during the day (this projector’s zoom range isn’t very wide though most others have a wider range).

    I have tried a 3,000 lumen projector and it’s bright enough all the time (actually at night you can dim the bulb it’s so bright) and it has a remote zoom so you can adjust the image size quite a bit. But that’s a $2,100+ projector (Epson 83p) and I just didn’t want to spend that much this year on it….

  10. Ilian says on: 24 January 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Thanks a lot for the clarification, Gary, that was indeed my concern: the effect of daylight.

    Mmm, I was also thinking of one of the cheaper sets as replacing my living room TV…

    I guess I’ll buy after all.

  11. Gary LaPointe says on: 25 January 2007 at 12:37 am

    I ended up putting some cheap room darkening pull down blinds in my windows from Home Depot. When they’re up, you can’t even see them behind the curtains (well, from the inside you can’t).

  12. lcpadua says on: 27 January 2007 at 12:39 am

    Do you know the zoom ratio of this projector? I know you say it is limited in zoom. Ideally, I would like to project from 22 feet with a 100 inch diagonal. I suspect the diagonal would be a lot bigger, or I would have to place the projector much closer. Any information? Staples has unit for about $450 now.

  13. rick says on: 27 January 2007 at 1:28 am

    hi gary,
    i just ordered the
    Acer XD1150 DLP today from staples.
    it was $485.00 to my door.
    $449.00 +shipping.
    my question is what tuners do you recommend.(non sat)
    and do you use a video switcher?
    and or a computer?

  14. Edmund says on: 27 January 2007 at 7:24 am

    Gary,
    What type of screen would you recommend for the 1700 lumen Acer projector?

    Ed

  15. Gary LaPointe says on: 27 January 2007 at 9:32 am

    Here’s some specs on the projector: http://global.acer.com/PRODUCTS/projector/xd1150.htm

    And you know, I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned this and it’s probably an important poing: I don’t use a screen. My condo is on the third and fourth floor of a building and the fourth floor is smaller so I’ve got this weird vaulted ceiling in the living room.

    My point being is the wall I use would look awful with a screen on it so I just project onto the wall. The wall is a just off white matte paint. My image would be a bit (a lot?) brighter if I had a reflective screen. I don’t really know that much about screens so I can’t really answer the question.

    Another point on screens, I’ve noticed some of the new more expensive projectors have an option to tell it you’re projecting on a bare wall and it flashes some colors and does some readings to optimize for projecting on the wall.

  16. Gary LaPointe says on: 27 January 2007 at 9:46 am

    As a tuner, I use my Humax TiVo (w.DVD recorder) which is actually plugged into my cable box. So technically I guess the HD cable box is my tuner. But the newer TiVo’s will output at 480i (or is it “P”?) via component video and it’s a beautiful image. But my Tivo has no component in, so I do lose a little from the HD cable box but it still makes all the HD channels look like I’m watching a DVD.

    On the whole HD cable box, the HD packages the cable company offer you are expensive BUT if you insist many just give you the HD box it’s probably only $5-10 a month (I pay $5) and that gives me about 8-10 HD channels (most being channels that I get already none are movie channels). No one will ever explain it to you. Your best bet is to just show up at the cable office and ask for a box at the least price the have and take it home and try it.

    My stereo receiver is smart enough to be an S-Video/Video switcher so that switches between two of my other video sources (I rarely do this) and I don’t generally hook a computer up, but I’ve been considering it since there are so many video options on-line these days.

  17. Tom says on: 27 January 2007 at 11:12 am

    Gary
    This page was the only info I found online got mine Staples. $449.

    Will let you know about Xbox. I never had a projector before.

    Thank you and others who posted
    Tom

  18. Edmund says on: 28 January 2007 at 8:36 am
  19. Rodney says on: 29 January 2007 at 8:27 am

    Thanks for putting this up sir. I went ahead and purchased the XD 1150 from Staples friday for my doghouse in the garage and wow am truly impressed with the quality of picture compared to the price. Even played a round of Tiger Woods golf yesterday and couldn’t tell the difference between it and playing on the HDTV big screen in the house.

  20. Ron Haynes says on: 3 February 2007 at 12:09 pm

    I just got the Acer 1150 DLP projector for my bar. It’s great, we have it so that the screen size is about 84″. You can see it from every seat in the bar area. We’re going to have a great Super Bowl Party! I’ve had nothing but good comments from my staff and customers. I don’t think you can do better for this price.

  21. Steven says on: 6 February 2007 at 12:37 pm
  22. Edmund says on: 7 February 2007 at 2:47 pm

    Gary,

    Where can I buy a ceiling mount for the XD 1150?

    From all outward appearences it doesn’t look like the XD 1150 can be mounted but I may be wrong.

    What say you?

  23. Donnie says on: 26 February 2007 at 6:20 pm

    I appreciated your comments on the Acer XD1150 and the questions about the bulb. I finally found it (the bulb)from overseas and the cost in US Dollars with shipping included is around $205 give or take a few dollars. Here is the link:
    http://www.backoffice.be/shop/details.asp?partid=EC%2EJ3901%2E001

  24. Tom says on: 23 April 2007 at 11:34 am

    Hi.

    Tom again from january,first machine quit when I plugged it in.Waited to take plunge again.
    Did buy another from Staples $449.00.This one works great playing x-box games, great for nascar races, UFC.

    Thanks again Gary and all who took time to post.

  25. bob says on: 24 April 2007 at 9:34 pm

    SUCKS!, got it delivered free from staples, it dont work! called the mfg. they said its defective….called staples, they pick up old and deliver new…it dont work!

  26. Rodney says on: 5 July 2007 at 11:49 am

    Okay. I purchased this a few weeks ago and I must say I still love the projector but am HIGHLY disappointed in ACER customer support. I turned it on one evening and the picture is showing straight up in the air. I called customer support who connected me with technical support and they determined something had happened inside and I needed to send it in for repairs. 28 bucks and 10 days later I receive my projector back and it is operating the same way. I have been on hold for over 45 minutes now trying to get back in touch with them. Let you know how it goes.

  27. Tricia says on: 21 July 2007 at 7:07 pm

    Hi there Gary,

    I am bidding on this device on ebay. I teach at a very poor school district and would like to buy this to use in my classroom.

    Do you think this would work well with my PC?

    Thanks

  28. maroof says on: 6 August 2007 at 4:17 pm

    hi there gary, im looking to buy this projector too but im overwhelmed by the contrast ratio and lumens rating, this is higher than most mid range to high projectors ! does it produce really good results? lets say lights are off, projectors around 10 meters away, will i see pixels? i have a 10 yr old projector and even on close pixels show? will i get cinema quality? any feedback would be much appreciated.

    thanks

  29. Bryan says on: 23 February 2008 at 11:06 am

    Do you know how to make this projector HD with the basic plug ins on the back

  30. Gary LaPointe says on: 23 February 2008 at 12:49 pm

    I used an adaptor that plugs into the VGA plug and it has the 3 component video RCA-type jacks.

    I’m not sure if that’s ‘technically’ HD, but my TiVo and Apple TV talk to it just fine and think it’s hooked up to an HD TV (I think the TV treats it as a 480i/p and the AppleTV thinks it’s 70ii/p). And the picture is awesome.

    I don’t recall if it cam in the box, if I bought it or if I already had the adaptor from something else.

    I’ve been having a bit of a focus problem lately. It shifts and shifts back while watching TV. Anyone else?

  31. brandon says on: 17 September 2008 at 12:20 am

    i have had an 1150 for 2 years. i got it on black friday for 700 dollars…yall are lucky you paid so little for such a nice projector…i love it. i wish that i could afford a new model this black friday cause after 2 years, my bulb finally burnt out. i think it would have lasted longer if i didn’t fall asleep with it on all the time, but what can you do. i did find the replacement bulb for $140+tax! here:

    http://www.filron.com/us/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=185

    ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT THIS PROJECTOR EMAIL ME AT MSTERIGHT@GMAIL.COM THANKS

  32. Timmy says on: 14 November 2009 at 8:44 am

    This projector is great alright for watching movies etc. and of course it’s small size is handy if you have to move about a lot (like me).

    However, I have had mine 10 months and the lamp has blown already :0/. Not sure exactly how many hours use I got from it but the last time I checked its settings it had well over 1000 hours left so I guess I used it maybe 600 or 700 hours if that.

    If you check out the Acer warranty you will see that the projector itself has 2 year warranty but the lamp has only 90 days warranty.

    Just thought that I’d point out this disadvantage and warn others of the warranty details.

    Now I am weighing up the options of buying a replacement lamp vs. buying a replacement projector as I see now these LED models that “claim” to give 10 or 20,000 hours life.

    Does anyone have any experience with the LED models and any cons pros with them?

    Cheers

    Tim

  33. Gary from http://GarySaid.com/ says on: 14 November 2009 at 2:12 pm

    I don’t think you’re getting the brightness of the LED bulb models of the projectors. but I could be wrong, anyone can jump in here on that.

    Pricing on the the projectors keep dropping and pictures getting clearer and brighter (brighter is important to me as I’m pushing this picture at 10 feet diagonal in a room that’s hard to keep dark in the daylight). So I’d definitely consider another projector before a replacement bulb when my current one dies.

  34. George says on: 15 June 2010 at 6:14 pm

    I have this projector for the last 3 years and I’m more than pleased. Now its about 4000 on the same lamp. Its a bit dimmed but not much, still projects fine, and even though I have already bought a new lamp at about 100 euros shipped, I’m not gonna change it yet. maybe in about 500-1000 from now.

    Now I’m researching the possibility of using this projector for a 3D game/cinema experience! (it can accept an 85hz VGA signal thats the lowest acceptable for 3D)

Leave a Reply:

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*

  Copyright ©2003-2013 Gary Said…, All rights reserved.| Powered by WordPress| Simple Indy theme by India Fascinates

http://GarySaid.com/my-new-tv-acer-xd1150-dlp-digital-projector-review/ generated Thursday, November 23rd 2017 at 10:05:23 am EST (in 106 queries in 0.653 seconds).